Inspirational Talk: Dealing with Insecurities

In our era right now, we are very judgemental and we always compare ourselves to different persons. We always ask ourselves the differences that we had from a person. We always take a look at our differences and that is seriously one of the reason why our insecurities are made.

As a teen, I always relate to somethings when talking about insecurities. I have a lot especially when we are talking about physical appearances. Physical appearances are one big reason why we are judge by our friends or co-teens.

One way that I always do when my trail of thoughts brought me to my self appearance is to always think that my differences from you are one of my assets as a girl. Like for example, everyone around teases you because of your nose, they say it for a joke but deep inside you, you got offended but always remember that your nose is one of the asset that made you look “YOU”.

You wouldn’t look “YOU” if you had a different nose. In general, consider all your differences in physical appearance as beautiful things that made you become “YOU”.

Next thing I also do is to push my confidence and throw all my embarrassed feelings when facing a big crowd away. Pushing your confidence doesn’t just apply when facing a big crowd but also when entering your school and those judgemental eyes were on you.

You don’t have to be shy when they are around because it really is normal for people looking curious about a person that isn’t familiar in their eyes. Or they might now you and who knows they may be insecure to you too.

Of course, pushing your confidence isn’t possible when you train yourself alone but you also need people who support you always. They might be your very close friends or family members.

Insecurities are just feelings who kept on brain washing your mind.

That is what I always keep in mind. That serves as my daily reminder whenever insecurities comes to me once again.

I know that insecurities are cannot be avoided but you can prevent those in order to be confident and to maintain your self-esteem.

May the sentence above you can make and remind you to be just YOU.

-BEATRIZ ABAPO

 

Leave a Reply

